The Hippo

HOME| ADVERTISING| CONTACT US|

 
Jul 22, 2018







NEWS & FEATURES

POLITICAL

FOOD & DRINK

ARTS

MUSIC & NIGHTLIFE

POP CULTURE



BEST OF
CLASSIFIEDS
ADVERTISING
CONTACT US
PAST ISSUES
ABOUT US
MOBILE UPDATES
LIST MY CALENDAR ITEM


Talking brews at a past festival. Photo courtesy of the New Hampshire Brewers Association.




 5th annual New Hampshire Brewers Festival

When: Saturday, July 14, 1 to 4 p.m. (VIP ticket-holders admitted at noon)
Where: Kiwanis Waterfront Park, 15 Loudon Road, Concord (behind the Douglas N. Everett Arena)
Cost: General admission is $40 in advance and $50 on the day of the festival; VIP admission is $60; Designated driver admission is $20 (must be 21 years or older).
Visit: granitestatebrewersassociation.org/events/nhbrewersfestival
 
 
603 Brewery (Londonderry, 603brewery.com)
7th Settlement Brewery (Dover, 7thsettlement.com)
Aigean Ales (Manchester, aigeanales.com)
Bad Lab Beer Co. (Somersworth, badlabbeer.com)
Backyard Brewery & Kitchen (Manchester, backyardbrewerynh.com)
Blasty Bough Brewing Co. (Epsom, blastybough.com)
Branch and Blade Brewing (Keene, babbrewing.com)
Canterbury Aleworks (Canterbury, canterburyaleworks.com)
Chapel + Main (Dover, chapelandmain.com)
Concord Craft Brewing Co. (Concord, concordcraftbrewing.com)
Earth Eagle Brewings (Portsmouth, eartheaglebrewings.com)
Empty Pint Brewing Co. (Dover, emptypintbrewing.com)
Flying Goose Brew Pub & Grille (New London, flyinggoose.com)
Garrison City Beerworks (Dover, garrisoncitybeerworks.com)
Granite Roots Brewing (Troy, graniterootsbrewing.com)
Great North Aleworks (Manchester, greatnorthaleworks.com)
Great Rhythm Brewing Co. (Portsmouth, greatrhythmbrewing.com)
Henniker Brewing Co. (Henniker, hennikerbrewing.com)
Hobbs Tavern & Brewing Co. (West Ossipee, hobbstavern.com)
Kelsen Brewing Co. (Derry, kelsenbrewing.com)
Kettlehead Brewing Co. (Tilton, kettleheadbrewing.com)
Liars Bench Beer Co. (Portsmouth, liarsbenchbeer.com)
Lithermans Limited (Concord, lithermans.beer)
Loaded Question Brewing Co. (Portsmouth, loadedquestionbrewing.com)
Long Blue Cat Brewing Co. (Londonderry, longbluecat.com)
Martha’s Exchange Restaurant & Brewing Co. (Nashua, marthas-exchange.com)
Moat Mountain Smoke House & Brewing Co. (North Conway, moatmountain.com)
Oddball Brewing Co. (Suncook, oddballbrewingnh.com)
Out.Haus Ales (Northwood, outhausales.com)
Pipe Dream Brewing (Londonderry, pipedreambrewingnh.com)
Polyculture Brewing Co. (Croydon, polyculturebrewing.com)
The Portsmouth Brewery (Portsmouth, portsmouthbrewery.com)
Rockingham Brewing Co. (Derry, rockinghambrewing.com)
Schilling Beer Co. (Littleton, schillingbeer.com)
Stark Brewing Co. (Manchester, starkbrewingcompany.com)
Stoneface Brewing Co. (Newington, stonefacebrewing.com)
Throwback Brewery (North Hampton, throwbackbrewery.com)
Tuckerman Brewing Co. (Conway, tuckermanbrewing.com)
White Birch Brewing (Nashua, whitebirchbrewing.com)
Woodman’s Brewery (Bristol, find them on Facebook)
 




Granite state of brewing
New Hampshire Brewers Festival returns

07/12/18



 By Matt Ingersoll

mingersoll@hippopress.com
 
Discover new craft beers and talk to local brewers face to face at the New Hampshire Brewers Festival, which will feature nearly 50 of the state’s 76 licensed breweries when it returns to Kiwanis Waterfront Park in Concord on Saturday, July 14. 
“This will be the largest collection of all New Hampshire brewers in one festival,” said CJ White, executive director of the New Hampshire Brewers Association, which hosts the 21+ only event. “We pull from everywhere throughout the state, too, so it’s great for craft beer lovers who may not be able to visit certain breweries because they are too far away.”
This year’s lineup features a combination of breweries that have appeared in the past, as well as new ones that have obtained licenses to pour since last year’s festival, like Loaded Question Brewing Co. in Portsmouth, Kettlehead Brewing Co. in Tilton, Long Blue Cat Brewing Co. in Londonderry, Polyculture Brewing Co. in Croydon and others.
“The majority of people doing the pouring are the brewers themselves or their sales managers, so you get to actually see the person behind the beer and talk with them,” White said. “All of the brewers try to bring things that are unique and not their normal stuff that you can easily get at the bottle shops or in the tasting rooms.”
White said more than a dozen of the breweries even plan special releases specifically for the festival. Blasty Bough Brewing Co. in Epsom, for example, will pour a sour beer using grapes grown on its own farm. Owner Dave Stewart opened the farm-to-kettle nanobrewery in February on the grounds of McClary Hill Farm. Others include Henniker Brewing Co., which White said is partnering with a local farm to produce a beer with strawberry rhubarb.
Owners of a few craft breweries that haven’t opened for business yet — including To Share Brewing Co. in Manchester and Post & Beam Brewing Co. in Peterborough — will also be attending but not pouring at the festival.
White said the most updated New Hampshire Beer Trail will be released during the festival. Craft beer lovers can visit breweries across the state, get “stamps” in their brewery passport, and receive prizes depending on how many they visit.
In addition to the craft beers, the event will include raffles, food vendors from local food trucks, music from 92.5/102.3 FM The River, a dunk-a-brewer challenge and other games and activities.
“If you want a true taste of New Hampshire beer, this will be the place that will have the most amount,” White said. “We try to stress that it’s ‘for the brewers, by the brewers,’ and proceeds benefit our efforts to help sustain the craft beer community.”
For advice on how to navigate a festival, check out the Drinks column on page 36. 
 





®2018 Hippo Press. site by wedu